NACS Scholarship in Memory of Jim Yates and David Erickson | NACS Online – Events – Leadership Events
Sign In Help

The Association for Convenience & Fuel Retailing

Skip Navigation LinksNACS Online / Events / Leadership Events / NACS Scholarship in Memory of Jim Yates and David Erickson

NACS Scholarship Program

Tomorrow’s Leaders Are Being Developed Today

Many of the convenience industry’s leaders got their start at the store level. Through hard work and commitment to learning, these individuals followed the career paths of the industry to positions of senior leadership.

Established in 1991, the NACS Scholarship Program provides a way for convenience and fuel retailers to retain, reward and develop the next generation of industry innovators within their companies.

2016-2017 NACS Scholarship Recipients
Congratulations to the following NACS Scholarship recipients*:

  • Matthew Brien, Delta Technician & Customer Advisor, Delta Sonic Car Wash System Inc., NY
  • Daniel Brown, Sales Associate, Kwik Shop, KS
  • Chelsea Call, Category and Merchandising Specialist, Ricker Oil Co., IN
  • Melissa Callahan, Store Development Administrative Coordinator, QuikTrip, OK
  • Noah Cotton, Network Technician, RaceTrac Petroleum Inc., GA
  • Briana Dolechek , Shift Leader, The Hub Convenience Stores, Inc., ND
  • Jeremy Fluegge, Guest Service Coordinator, KwikTrip Inc., WI
  • Austin Frye, Guest Services Leader, Kwik Trip Inc. #624, WI
  • Matthew Hamrick, Pharmacy Technician Giant Eagle, OH
  • Susan Hathcook, Training Store Manager, Clipper Petroleum, GA
  • Jeffery Moreno, Retail G/L Accountant, Wheels of CT, Inc., CT

*Each recipient is currently employed with a NACS retail member company

See How You Can Help Inspire Future Leaders    
Watch this short clip to learn how the NACS Scholarship Program is helping future convenience store leaders achieve their dreams.




 About the Program


​The NACS Scholarship Program was created 17 years ago to recognize and support industry employees who demonstrate the potential and the determination to someday hold positions of senior leadership in the industry. The program honors the memory of industry icon Jim Yates, founder of E-Z Mart Stores and former NACS Chairman. In 2011, a donation from Altria expanded the program to include honoring the memory of David Erickson, former CEO of Erickson Oil Products.

How it Works
Selected applicants are awarded $3,000 each for costs of undergraduate career education, community college, or university. In addition, scholarship recipients also receive a stipend to attend the NACS Show, where they will be recognized during a special evening ceremony and given the first-hand opportunity to learn more about exciting career paths in the industry.

This scholarship is sponsored by the NACS Foundation located at 1600 Duke Street, Suite 700, Alexandria, Va. 22314, the 501(c)(3) education and charitable affiliate of the National Association of Convenience Stores (NACS).

Payment of Scholarship Funds
Two separate scholarship checks will be mailed to the recipient's home address, made payable to the scholarship recipient’s college or university. The first award payment will be issued in August for $1,500 and the second payment of $1,500 will be distributed in December.

February 1, 2016 2016-17 NACS Scholarship Program period begins on February 1, 2016
June 15, 2016 Submission period for 2016-17 NACS Scholarship Program ends on June 15, 2016
July 1, 2016 Notification of 2016-17 NACS Scholarship Status
August 2016 First award payment in the amount of $1,500 mailed to 2016-17 NACS Scholarship recipients
October 18-21, 2016 2016 NACS Show in Atlanta, Georgia. NACS Scholarship Recipient Awards Ceremony to be held one evening during the show
December 2016 Second and final award payment in the amount of $1,500 mailed to 2016-17 NACS Scholarship recipients
​January 2, 2017 ​2017-18 NACS Scholarship Program period begins on January 2, 2017



​The NACS Scholarship Program is open to those for whom the following applies for the 2017-18 scholarship period:

  • Applicants must be currently employed at a NACS retail member company
  • Applicants must continue working for the nominating company throughout the scholarship period
  • Applicants must be enrolled in/or will be enrolled in undergraduate academic study for fall 2017
  • Scholarships are one-year awards. Scholarship recipients may re-apply each year, for up to four years, if they continue to meet the eligibility requirements
  • The scholarships will be applied to tuition expenses at any accredited college or university in the United States. Recipients may transfer from one college to another and retain the award.

Responsibility of Recipients
Scholarship recipients must enroll as full-time or part-time undergraduate college students and must continue in school for the entire academic year without interruption, barring illness, emergency, or military service. Recipients must remain an employee of the NACS member company for the entire period of the award. Scholarship recipients are responsible for making certain that their scholarship checks are delivered to the proper office at their college or university. Students must notify NACS if he or she transfers schools during the course of the school year or if no longer employed by the company.


 How to Apply


​To be considered for a scholarship, a candidate must complete an official NACS Scholarship Program application, which consists of the following three parts:

  1. Applicant Data and Questionnaire
  2. An Essay (two pages, maximum)
  3. Nomination Form, to be completed by a supervisory employee / senior official within the company

An application for a 2017-18 NACS Scholarship will be available in January 2017. Please check back later. 


 Previous Recipients


The 2015-16 NACS Scholarship recipients, each of whom is currently employed with a NACS retail member company, are:

  • Matthew Brien, Delta Technician & Customer Advisor, Delta Sonic Car Wash Systems Inc.
  • Gregory Campbell, Sales Associate, RaceTrac Petroleum, Inc.
  • Sahara Dickinson, Sales Associate, Sheetz, Inc
  • Briana Dolechek, Cashier, The Hub Convenience Store
  • Matthew Hamrick, Pharmacy Technician, Giant Eagle
  • Shannon Hurley, IT Coordinator, Cenex Zip Trip (CHS Inc.)
  • Michael Jones, District Leader – Indianapolis Market, GetGo/Giant Eagle
  • Kevin Kautzman, District Supervisor – Staffing & Training Manager, Kum & Go
  • Loretta Kennis, Quality Assurance Field Specialist, Sheetz, Inc
  • Gyasi McClarence, Point of Sale Analyst, Cumberland Farms Gulf Group
  • Derek Trout, Shift Leader, Bobby and Steve's Auto World



​You can help grow the industry programs that the NACS Foundation supports by making a tax deductible donation. The NACS Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization (EIN: 54-172339).

We’ve Made it Simple to Donate.
Fill out a secure form online or download our PDF and fax, email or mail back the completed form to:

Fax: (703) 836-4564
Email: Stephanie Sikorski, Director, NACS Foundation and Mission Marketing, at
Mailing Address:
NACS Foundation
1600 Duke Street, Suite 700
Alexandria, VA. 22314

Your donation helps our industry thrive.